Ran away without a Cannoli

9 Dec

I made it.  A week late, a lot out of breath, and covered in royal icing from head to toe.  This month’s DB challenge came just as I was putting the final touches on our extravagant Gingerbread House at work and as such…I lost the cannoli in the mix.

I’ll post photos of the Gingerbread house and tell the harrowing story of its construction in a later post, but first let me tell you about the cannoli.

This month’s (or better said last month’s) DB Challenge was hosted by the astounding Lisa-Michele at Parsley, Sage, Desserts, and Line Drives – an amazing cook and sweet supporter of this blog.  She chose the cannoli and her long, in-depth description of how to make and enjoy them can best be done justice by reading her own words.

I for one am terrified of cannoli. Well, that is not true. I am terrified of fried foods. Somehow I always get burned, or the food does.  But, I took the plunge into the heat and have come back unscathed. HURRAY!!!

So here it is my take on the cannoli with a dash a spamouni (sp?)- a little maraschino cherry, pistachio, and chocolate in a light ricotta filling…. DIVINE!

Though I can’t say I’ll make cannoli again anytime soon (that dough and I just don’t get along), I had a fun time making these and my taste tester did an awesome job mixing the filling.  It was a lovely way to spend the first day I have had off in a month.

Now on the next challenge… a post in German for a very special Christmas treat….get out your babble fish translators and stay tuned.

3 Responses to “Ran away without a Cannoli”

  1. lisamichele December 9, 2009 at 08:04 #

    Ente…I’m glad You took the ‘proverbial’ plunge into hot oil! LOL Your cannoli look beautiful, and the filling of spumoni flavors in the ricotta mixrure, is brilliant and soo incredibly creamy looking! I’m so happy you took part in my challenge!

  2. deserthomespun December 12, 2009 at 03:52 #

    these look lovely and tasty! But don;t kno nay german for next month – help!!!!!!

    can’t wait to see the gingerbread lighthouse…

  3. deserthomespun December 12, 2009 at 03:53 #

    ok..note to self: don’t drink too much wine and write any comments….after a long day of moving furniture…can’t spell!

Leave a Reply

