Falling in Love

28 Oct

I love Fall. I love apples and the brightly colored trees and the chill in the air and this year I am adding a love for Mulled Spice French Macaroons.

P1010332

Light and crisp (just like the air outside) with a hint of warmth and softness in the middle (like  a warm sweater on the night of the first frost)….french macaroons are amazing.

The 2009 October Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to us by Ami S. She chose macaroons from Claudia Fleming’s The Last Course: The Desserts of Gramercy Tavern as the challenge recipe.

I wish I had time to write more about my experience with these macaroons but time is a luxury these days. I will say that while I tried the Fleming recipe it did not work for me and I switched to the one on cannelle et vanille’s site, which worked like a dream.  I spiked the meringue with mulling spices and made an apple compote/curd with the left over egg yolks for the middle. Divine!

7 Responses to “Falling in Love”

  1. squeaky mouse October 28, 2009 at 14:44 #

    yumyumyum…I love your poetic account!

  2. Jill October 28, 2009 at 16:32 #

    Great flavor combination–perfect for fall!🙂

  3. deserthomespun October 30, 2009 at 18:02 #

    sounds yummy!

  4. lisamichele October 31, 2009 at 16:20 #

    Beautiful job! Most didn’t flip over the challenge recipe and switched to others..like Helen’s or Aran’s. I am dying to try Aran’s, because yours turned out gorgeous!!

  5. lisamichele November 19, 2009 at 07:17 #

    OMG, what a beautiful macaron and the apple flavor is just perfect, It brings to mind warm cider in front of the fireplace. You should enter those in the Macathon/Mactweet challenge! It’s a new challenge that showcases macarons each month..one of the founders being Deeba of Passionate About Baking🙂 I don’t have the URL on hand, but when I do, I’ll post it here :0

  6. lisamichele November 19, 2009 at 07:18 #

    Oops, forgot to mention, that’s why I came back, to let you know about the challenge, since I cannot get these out of my mind!

  7. lisamichele November 20, 2009 at 16:02 #

    Here’s the link to the challenge..hope you can join in!

    http://mactweets.blogspot.com/2009/11/mac-attack-2-game-is-on.html

Leave a Reply

