For M

28 Jun

My dear friend M visited me last weekend. This is an annual tradition in which we get drunk (and regret it) and talk about life – our hopes and dreams – and give each other a little kick in the pants to reach our goals over the next year.

It is probably one of the most wonderful parts of the year for me. I look forward to it so much and I treasure our friendship and our candor with one another. We are so alike, yet so different, it is a perfect match.

As part of our weekend, we cooked Indian food (lots of it). Wonderful meals made better by having a native in the kitchen to teach me the tricks of the trade. This year we cooked from the Bollywood Cookbook which documents cooking from all over India through the eyes of famous Indian actors.

So in honor of her stay, I present

Mango Pickle Egg Salad

5 eggs, hard boiled

2 Tablespoons Mayonnaise (more or less to taste)

1 green chile finely chopped

2-3 Tablespoons Mango Pickle, finely chopped (more or less to taste)

Mash eggs, mayo, chile, and Mango Pickle together with a liberal dash of salt. Serve on lightly toasted wheat bread. enjoy!


One Response to “For M”

  1. Sky June 29, 2009 at 21:57 #

    I love our visits. Its the best time of the year for me too!

    Thanks so much for the recipe! It was delicious.

    I love you and jess.

Leave a Reply

