Bacon

2 May

Need I say more?

I know there is a bacon craze these days.  You can buy bacon in every form from a breakfast slab to bacon salt (not quite sure how it is vegetarian or kosher but the “concept” sounds intriguing) to bacon candles (this site is literally dedicated to bacon from food to jewelry).  There was even a time when you could have a slab a bacon magically appear on your screen, just in case you have a bacon craving in the middle of the day and there is (gasp) no bacon in your lunch.

This is all a bit much, in my humble opinion. But who am I to deny the love of bacon.  In these awful days of swine “flew” is it not time to remember the happier side of the hog.

So I guess it is not so odd that I have had such a great response to bacon cheesecake.

In my last post I didn’t provide recipes….mostly because I was lazy. But now I will share the one for PB Bacon Cheesecake, just for you.

Start with Abby’s Infamous Cheesecake and add some peanut butter, chocolate chips, and candied bacon.  It is that simple.

p1000554

OK, OK  I’ll give you more than that.

For the Crust:

I added 3 Tablespoons of dutch cocoa powder to the mix.

It made a nice chocolate taste without being too sweet. I would even say it was a bit smoky but that might have been all the bacon.

For the Filling:

I added 6 Tablespoons of creamy peanut butter to the cream cheese.

You can add more or less depending on your love of peanuts.

I  folded 1 cup of chocolate chips and  6 crumbled strips of Candied Bacon. before pouring the batter in the pan.

I think I might add more bacon, since one can never have too much bacon.

To make the candied bacon, I used a recipe from David Lebovitz.

Pre-heat the oven to 400 F

10 Strips of Bacon (6 for the filling, 2-3 to decorate the top, and at least one to eat)

2 1/2 Tablespoons Light Brown Sugar

Place the bacon on lined baking sheet, you can use a silicone pad or aluminum foil (note: if you use silicone it will forever smell like bacon, which may or may not be a good thing)

Sprinkle each piece evenly with 2 teaspoons of brown sugar

bacon

Now pop it in the oven for around 15 minutes. Turn the bacon at least once, sliding the bacon through the brown bits of bacon fat and caramelized sugar.

When done place the bacon on a cooling rack, to allow it to drain and harden into candy.

candyUse as directed. Or eat it all and start over, continuing to make candied bacon until you run out.

Leave a Reply

