Stracciatella

1 Feb

Stracciatella gelato is one of my all time favorite desserts.  Creamy vanilla with a hint of chocolate, but a bit too cold for mid-winter in Maine. So when I had the opportunity to make a birthday cake last week and the request was for a white cake with white frosting and a hint of something chocolate….I came up with the idea to make my first Stracciatella Cake.

The party was last minute and I had two-hours to prepare the cake  –  I chose simplicity (Victorian Sponge & Stabilized Whip Cream) over flair (Genoise & Swiss Butter Cream).  This turned out to be a wise choice.  The light, simple sponge and not  too sweet cream allowed the chocolate to shine and the result was the perfect winter Stracciatella.

The birthday girl loved her cake as did all who were lucky enough to get a taste.

One Response to “Stracciatella”

  1. Chicory February 2, 2009 at 17:27 #

    I love it!!! I wish you were here to make my birthday cake!

Leave a Reply

